The Flanagan Result: Tasmanian Literature At The Limelight

 January 19, 2021      
The Flanagan Result: Tasmanian Literature At The Limelight

The statement last October the Richard Flanagan had won the Man Booker Prize for his book The Narrow Road to the Deep North put the Australian author in an global spotlight it also attracted Tasmanian literature from the shadows.

Using its imprimatur in the Man Booker judges, his most recent publication, when entered, will be a hot favorite for the significant trophy in his home nation’s Premier’s Literary Prizes in the end of 2015.

The statement of this new-look Premier’s Literary Prizes a rebadging of this biennial Tasmanian Literary Prizes, that have been around in a variety of forms since 2001 has been made in a reception held for Flanagan at Tasmania’s Parliament House on March 24.

Aptly, since it recognises that although Flanagan could currently be the nation’s flagship author, there’s an armada of gifted Tasmanian writers sailing .

Really, using its renewed commitment to the literary prizes, the Tasmanian government is openly recognising the potency of Tasmanian literature and trying to observe Tasmanian writing and writers.

New Talent, Established Writer

The debut of the brand new A$5,000 Tasmanian Young Writer’s Prize among the four awards at the rebadged biennial package of awards, is meant to encourage young authors to view themselves as an integral and significant part the Tasmanian writing community.

Validating youthful writers is vital in ensuring that the growth and nurturing of new talent. In the same way, the present A$5,000 University of Tasmania Prize attempts to promote writers in the first phases of their literary professions by devoting an unpublished manuscript and offering support for the own development.

Collectively, both of these prizes just one longstanding, one new provide emerging and young writers a stage to showcase their own work, increase their profiles, and take their careers to the next level.

Combined with previously recognized Tasmania Book Prize and Margaret Scott Prize, this group of four awards spark interest in Tasmanian writing and writers, expand markets and increase earnings.

Tasmanian Style

Significantly, these prizes paint a wider picture of Tasmanian literature than could otherwise exist past the country’s shores. Tasmanian authors are Australian authors. Poetry and short fiction, in addition to literary and drama non-fiction, also thrived.

From the next years of the 20th century, both novelists Christopher Koch and Amanda Lohrey, authors of short fiction including as Barney Roberts and Geoffrey Dean, along with plenty of poets, such as Gwen Harwood, Stephen Edgar and Sarah Day, maintained Tasmania punching above its weight at the Australian literature ring.

This was commissioned by Philip Mead, today Chair of Australian Literature in the University of Western Australia, who introduced the initial discrete class about the Literature of Tasmania in the University of Tasmania over a decade past.

More lately, Danielle Wood continues to be fostering emerging talent within her creative writing class Composing Tasmania that encourages pupils to read and compose Tasmanian stories.

More reinforcement for emerging authors comes in the form of this yearly Erica Bell Foundation Literature Award, open to Tasmanian residents that are first-time writers of a literary work.

In 2014 the inaugural award attracted a strong field, together with the job of the winner of this A$10,000 trophy, Adam Ouston, and also the next runner-up, Robbie Arnottwill be released.

And There’s Guaranteed to be a powerful Tasmanian attention from the coming Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival in Hobart later this season along with also the Tamar Valley Writers Festival at Beaconsfield first next year.

As those people that reside in Tasmania understand, the nation’s tourism was riding the tide of this “MONA impact”. Since the introduction of David Walsh’s striking, lively museum in 2011, the worldwide interest in the museum and also Tasmania reveal no signs of waning.

It’ll be intriguing to see whether a “Flanagan impact” will do to Tasmanian literature that which MONA has done to your country more broadly.